MONEY

 

 

Money…will you kiss me goodnight
Laying the day to rest
Will you bless me with children
Listening to their laughter at crest

Money…will you allow me to sit
In the classroom of pain
Learn from its schoolers, study
Its ethos in knowledge to obtain

Money…will you build for me a home
With its foundations unshakable
Will you consecrate me a family
With its values impeccable

Money…will you hold my hand through
Lonely nights of forsaken
Will you whisper intimates of memories
Of hearts memories, dances awoken

Money…will you carry me when my knees
Are nailed to the earth so weak
Will you echo the silence of words
I am unable to speak

Money…will you earn me respect from
Your blood of green
Or will my respect be received by payments
of principles supreme

Money…will your funds be reliable to
Spend on unquestionable ethics
Will the expense of loving you eventuate
in fashions of mockery by way of mimics

Money…will you advise me in counsel
Shake my hand in pledge
Will you entice me in false balance
Store up wealth on securities edge

Money…will you vow to me a lifetime
Of unconditional commitment
Will you promise me the seed of the land
And all its fruits of investment

Money…they say the love of it is the
root of all evil
Choking the borrower, servant to the
lender in rival

Money…love you I will not, employ you
I will sensibly
For where my treasure lay in riches there
May heart too forcibly

Salwa Samra © 2012 

All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or part without permission is prohibited.

Image

About salwasamra

Salwa is the owner and creator of Poet's Room. Salwa has a passion to have Poetry rise from the ashes of days gone by to modern day reading material. Poet’s Room will offer the reader the opportunity to sit within its room, enjoy of its surroundings through words that will touch any reader. Pick and choose from Salwa's varied assortments. Poet’s Room is welcoming, intriguing, and inspiring. Take a tour, relax, contemplate and enjoy the variety of Poetry. www.salwasamra.com Salwa has authored two books, a Non Fiction book - "Web of Losing Me," and "Poet's Room - Volume I." As a writer of Non-Fiction, Poetry, Creative Writings and Fiction, Salwa extends herself in many writing projects. Salwa has contributed a short story - Dreams Didgeridoo - to an Australian Anthology. Salwa is currently working on her third book - Colour Me In - a fiction story of a young lady and her forceful culture. Salwa's Lebanese culture is deep-seated in poetry and philosophy, her writings are influenced by her historic culture. Throughout Salwa's growing years her father habitually recited Arabic Poetry. Though Salwa couldn't understand most of the poetic words because they were in classic Arabic it truly did have an impact on her and her writings. The richness of the words, the depths of affluence on Salwa's cultural history, traditions, and customs, has truly reigned in Salwa to follow through in her poetic writings. Salwa commit's herself to continue in this depth from her culture, and its richness of philosophy and poetry. Her desire is to encourage the reader to think beyond what is written, to contemplate life's experiences, to long to be intrigued, and inspired, thus, Salwa finds herself writing about topics that reflect nature, emotions, sentiment, and experiences of the human body, mind, and spirit, consequently, reaching further into the culture that built in Salwa the love for poetry, the passion for writing. Salwa's Christian faith is another integral facet of her writings, being the cornerstone of her inspirations. Her study in Theology and Creation has influenced Salwa to share with her readers the beauty, diversity and challenges the world has to offer.
This entry was posted in Writing Pieces and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MONEY

  1. silentfingers says:

    “Money…will you carry me when my knees
    Are nailed to the earth so weak
    Will you echo the silence of words
    I am unable to speak”

    Brilliantly written, Salwa.

Leave a Reply

